Get creative

Every so often I go through a patch where all I want to do is learn something new. There was my brief stint with trying to teach myself Italian (I can still ask for a hotel room and introduce you to my wife), several months of intense shorthand classes (which have really really proved useful), a photography course (which was fun) and a variety of other bits and pieces I tried my hand at (like knitting).

And it seems that, once again, the creative bug has bitten. I’ve given my internet favourites a bit of a spring clean and I was quite interested to note that the pages which stayed mainly have something to do with creative projects or DIY. Yes, some of it is functional, but mainly it’s just creativity for the sake of being creative.

Last Friday mom and I went through to Clay Café in Hout Bay to unleash our imaginations upon some unsuspecting crockery. It’s a great way to spend a morning or afternoon. You pay R25 for the session and three colours and then pick your bisque item from the shelves. Each item is priced differently depending on size, from small rice bowls to huge platters and many lovely things in between.

Mom chose a jug and a garlic bread plate, while I went for a cappuccino cup and saucer and a small rectangular plate.

It wasn’t my first time there, but we did learn the most awesome new painting technique. Bubbles. Messy, and so much fun. In fact we so enjoyed it that we went back to the shelves and picked more stuff to paint, just so that we could play some more. What you do is mix some paint and dishwashing liquid in a bowl, add lots of water and then pop a straw into it and blow. When the bubbles are just the right size scoop them carefully up and transfer them onto the plate (or whatever). As they pop they will leave a bubble pattern behind. And oh my gosh it’s cute. I’d so paint that effect all over the walls in my home if I could.

In fact, it was so much fun I think I’m going to start experimenting with the technique in other places (places that won’t get the landlords annoyed, of course).

We still have another week to wait until we can collect our ceramics from Hout Bay – and the wait is killing me! I want to see how it turns out after firing. See, the glaze is very pale until it meets with the high temperatures in the kiln.

The only upside is that when we go all that way to collect them, it’s the perfect excuse to take an hour or so over a cuppa and paint something else.

I see a very dangerous cycle about to begin.

Leave a Reply

