Feeling chipper

Is it completely nuts that on the eve of what are going to be three incredibly busy weeks I’m feeling fantastic? Probably.

I just tackled a pile of dishes that resembled the aftermath of a fight between two seven year old boys after a tartrazine and sugar fuelled birthday party where there was only space for one of them on the jumping castle. And I smiled all the way through – I even dried and packed some of them away, for goodness sake.

What’s even weirder is that I was home from work just before 7pm, that’s a whole hour later than I’m supposedto be. And I went in early. I decided this morning that I was making a veggie filled stew for supper – which I did. With enough for lunch and supper tomorrow. And I also decided that tonight would be a no TV night. Just me, pottering around doing housy things. It’s been a great night so far.

It’s fabulous, this happy buzzy feeling. I wish I could trap it in the jam jar I just washed out* and put aside for some other use. Because I’m pretty sure I’ll be needing another hit round about 11.30am tomorrow. But until then, I think I’ll just enjoy this. There’s a bubble bath with my name on it in the very near future and a great novel waiting.

I know I’m really late to the party on this one – but have you read Stieg Larsson’s Millennium trilogy? I’ve read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and I’ve just started The Girl Who Played With Fire. Awesome books. And I’ll be honest, I was a little dubious to begin with, what with them being translations, but wow am I enjoying them.

I’m trying to get through this second one before I go see the first two films which have already opened at the cinema. I need to have Mikael and Lisbeth firmly set in my imagination before I venture into the film. And I definitely want to see the original Swedish films before I even consider Hollywood’s version. But best not get me started on that again.

* Dear Pick n Pay – thank you for making the front label on your Mixed Fruit jam jar so easy to peel off. If it’s not too much trouble, I would appreciate you doing something about the back label so that it doesn’t require a three hour soak, a rock hard manicure and a jack hammer to remove.

Leave a Reply

