Weekend worries

This past week the scale dropped to a new low and I was over the moon! I’m almost at my first mini goal and it feels amazing. I’ve been tracking meals with this app on my phone and reading the little motivational blurbs and ideas each day. It also gets you to weigh-in every so often. A while ago it suggested I should reach that first mini goal by February 19, but now it’s estimating February 4. Yay!

 

All my jubilation aside, I realised, on Friday night, that I had a mammoth task ahead of me: the weekend. A night out at Mercury where Bed on Bricks was playing (which would no doubt involve alcohol) and an evening at Banana Jam Cafe for a friend’s birthday (more alcohol and a menu designed to derail all my hard work).

 

To say I was a tad nervous would be an understatement. I was terrified. And then I became a little concerned that suddenly I was so entirely consumed by what I could or couldn’t… consume. After sharing this with Husband Person I told myself to just calm down and take it a step at a time.

 

At Mercury I treated myself to a Savannah Lite and shared a Monster and vodka with Husband Person. That was simple enough, being Designated Driver (DD) and all.

 

I played DD again on Saturday, so stuck to just Coke Light. Food, however, was a touch more challenging. At the end of the day I think I did okayish. I had one regular deep fried chilli popper, one grilled popper wrapped in bacon, and a salad with bacon, feta and chicken and all the greens of course. All over about six hours.

 

Not perfect, but considering all I wanted was pizzas, burgers and chips, I think it was a step in the right direction towards making better choices. Next time will be easier I’m sure.

 

It also helped that I saw a couple of girlfriends there I haven’t seen for a while, and they were so encouraging about how I’m looking. It was that little boost I needed to ignore the milkshakes and cheesecake.

 

This evening I’ll be doing some grocery shopping (my list is ready and I’m in the mood for smart shopping) and then I’ll whip up a pot of chicken and lentil soup. Let’s show this week who’s boss!

Leave a Reply

