Ribs – for my pleasure

Time to celebrate another small victory. Last night we went for all-you-can-eat ribs at Dale’s Black Angus. My main objective was to not eat the chips. I was determined, especially with so much meat (including the sweet basting sauce, which is probably loaded with sugar).

Happily they offer a choice of sides (most of them not “allowed” though) and I opted for the veggie skewers instead. They were delicious and I was able to enjoy my ribs a little more, knowing that I’d made a healthier choice than before. In the end I only had two helpings of ribs, although I could easily have asked for a third. But when I left I felt satisfied, not full or bloated.

Because I’m skating tonight and I won’t have time for supper when I get home, I’ve bought myself a chicken salad, drizzled with a little balsamic vinegar, which I’ll munch later this afternoon. That way I won’t pass out on the track. And more importantly I won’t be tempted to buy a pie and Coke from the garage shop.

I’m really hoping for another new low on the scale tomorrow, and the only way that’s going to happen is if I don’t stray from my plan.

Leave a Reply

