Still here and still at it

Between moving and celebrating my birthday I had a few weeks of relaxing a bit with the strict eating. I picked up a little (nothing to panic about, but up is never a good thing), but since I knuckled down again a few days ago I’ve returned to that happy place fairly easily and the scale is looking good again.

I contemplated doing another 30 Day Dash, but have decided against it. It was fun and all, but I kind of want to integrate it into my daily life and have weight goals as markers, rather than dates.

During my brief hiatus I ate a few burgers and some take-aways and didn’t really stress about limiting alcohol and snacks. And yes, I could feel it. Not like in a monstrously gross way, but I did feel a bit stuffed after eating and a bit blegh. It was a reminder that junk food, while awesome in the moment, isn’t all that great once it’s left your tongue. That enjoyment doesn’t really stretch beyond the chewing.

So when we went to our local the other night I was able to tuck into a Cajun chicken salad and enjoy every bite and not feel like I was really missing out by not ordering a burger (and their burgers are quite something). I was full and happy knowing that I’d chomped down on all the good stuff – greens, chicken, avo, cheese, bacon. Delicious.

Oh, and we were quite pleased to notice that one of our go-to “healthy bite” chains has added cauli-rice as an option to their winter curries. It’s nice to see that it’s not only the “up-market” restaurants making lchf adjustments. Not that we have heaps of money lying around to visit often, but at least I know the choice is there now. Here’s hoping this trend lasts so restaurants keep making an effort for those of us keen to stick to the plan.

On another note, here’s something I’ve been chewing on (again) for the past couple of days…

We all know that this eating plan, lchf, Banting, whatever you want to call it, has split people who care into two camps. Those (like me) who’ve seen that it really works for them and are super-happy with the results, and those who think the idea is ridiculous, a fad and completely against everything science tells them. Both sides are outspoken. And in places it’s turned into a bit of a flame war.

People are entitled to their own opinions. If you don’t like the idea of lchf, no problem, don’t do it. But I find myself increasingly disappointed with people I know, being outspoken about it when it’s really not affecting them in anyway. It’s like people running around with placards denouncing the life choices of others (insert issue here). If how that person chooses to live their life doesn’t affect you at all then it’s none of your business. You can disagree with their choices, but there’s no need to publicly shout about it. In this case, “shouting about it” mainly takes place on Facebook and Twitter. And so often it’s just blindly reposting just segments of the debate. If you really feel the need to weigh in (hur hur), at least include a variety of viewpoints. Especially when the article you’re linking to has already been responded to by a couple more professionals. And don’t just repost stuff without having done a little digging yourself.

Also, let’s be grown up about this. The other day I saw a friend post a link to an anti-Banting article, prefaced with her own “HA! Take that!” comment. It also irked me that said person is one of those “naturally skinny” types who eats whatever she likes. Yeah, okay, so carbs obviously aren’t an issue for you. But they are an issue for others, and this eating plan is working for them. Take what, exactly?

I really need to be unruffled by the naysayers, but when it’s people I know, who I figured to be a little more “together”, it’s difficult. No, I don’t expect you to jump on board and join me over a bowl of cauliflower. But I do expect you to keep your vociferous judgment to yourself. Let me decide how I want to live my life and get on with it. By all means, judge my choices, but do it quietly and out of earshot. I’d like to be able to quietly lose weight in a way that’s working for me and not have to feel like I’m constantly being challenged to explain myself.

And if science comes up with some new studies that prove that this way isn’t the best way, well then that’s something I’ll deal with if it happens.

For now, I’m feeling great, fitter than I’ve been in a long time, finding it easier to get going in the morning, not automatically reaching for the biggest clothes at the back of the rail, enjoying the challenge of finding new recipes and lingering in front of the mirror and actually smiling.

Take that!

Leave a Reply

