Hitting reset

From the (very little) reading I did yesterday I have deduced that the appestat is a very complex thing – BUT it is possible to reset it. I wasn’t about to get sucked into a whirlpool of links, but I glossed a couple of articles.

I think what I’m aiming for mostly is to put an end to the “I think I might be puckish, or wait, maybe I’m not, but man those chips smell good” cycle. I’ve heard it said so many times that sometimes when you think you’re hungry you’re actually thirsty. So I’m keeping the water close at hand and it seems to be working. I’m not actually hungry. I started the day with a bullet-proof coffee and later this afternoon I’ll probably try Kauai’s curry with cauli-rice. But other than that if I ate it would be because I felt I had to, not because I’m actually hungry.

That’s something Noakes mentioned at a function I was at last week. This business of eating three times a day is nonsense. Eat when you’re hungry. And if you’re doing this low carb/ high fat thing properly, you shouldn’t be hungry all the time – just when your body actually needs food.

The other thing I’ve heard before and have found to be true (even before trying this eating plan) is that it generally takes about 20 minutes for your brain to realize you’ve eaten enough. And yesterday I discovered that’s part of what the appestat does as well. Most of the time we just keep wolfing down our food until we’re about to pop and feel sick (well some of us do – or did). But now I’m trying to eat my normal-sized portion of food and then wait at least 20 minutes before I decide if I really do need something more to nibble on. Every time I’ve done that, the report has come back that, no, thank you very much, tummy is full, no more food needed. Which is excellent.

I think that even if I don’t know all the technical terms and the science behind it, through implementing small things like the 20-minute wait and the water, I can reset my appestat.

We’re going away with friends in a little over three weeks time, and I’d love to be able to reach my next goal by then. Nah, it won’t mean I’ll be wallowing in the Jacuzzi in a bikini, but at least I’ll be beaming from ear to ear.

Leave a Reply

