Small victory

Success! I managed to avoid my phone, and most importantly, social media, from the moment I left work yesterday evening right up until this morning. I checked and replied to one What’s App message (which was fine) and kept in touch with HP to let him know I was on my way home. But other than that – freedom!

I’m pleased to report that I didn’t find myself unconsciously reaching for my phone at all. But, I did think about it a lot – mostly along the lines of “Look how awesome I’m being, not using my phone!” So yes, not perfect, but it’s a step in the right direction. I don’t think I’ll make it a hard and fast rule every night, but I’m definitely going to try to make it a fixture when HP and I are spending evenings together.

It’s not like we suddenly launched into deep meaningful conversation or anything, but it did mean that when he wanted to ask something or comment on something I wasn’t absorbed in my phone. To be honest, I’m not even sure he noticed, but that’s not the point. I’m mainly doing it for me, to try rid myself of a bad habit.

And did I miss anything of earth shattering importance on social media that I couldn’t catch up with this morning in less than two minutes? Nope. Not a thing. It was a bit of a revelation.

Leave a Reply

