Just add self control

There’s this thing I do whenever I’m trying to gain a little control over my diet. I suddenly start finding new recipes, and then I fixate on said recipes. I daydream about going home and whipping up that decadent tart or tasty biscuit. I’d love to say I hold strong and resist temptation, but often, I don’t. I’ll suddenly catch myself in the kitchen rolling out pastry, creaming butter, sprinkling icing sugar. And doing it all with a smile – because baking makes me happy. It really really does.

shopping-list

But realising that I’ve undone all my hard work (health-wise) of the past year, does not. This time around, my temptation is a recipe for Snickerdoodles I came across completely by mistake (okay, fine, I went looking for it. But only because I’d always assumed it was some kind of pie. It’s not, it’s basically cinnamon sugar biscuits, and the recipe is so so easy, and I have most of the things I need for them already…. And that, folks, is how it happens. EVERY. TIME.)

I don’t want to give up baking, but I do need to set some ground rules. So, here goes:

  1. No more baking, just because I feel like making something yum. Baking needs to be done for a specific reason. And I’m sad/ I cleaned the kitchen/ I didn’t punch anyone in the face today/ I need to check if the oven still works do not count as valid reasons. Acceptable reasons are: I’m going to a party and need to take snacks/ I’m giving someone an edible gift/ Someone has ordered a cake from me and is paying me.

Actually, I think rule number one will suffice. For now. On the plus side… I have a get together coming up on Sunday, for which I need to make some snacks, so hooray for Snickerdoodles! Although, I’ve also been wanting to make shortbread…. and fudge… oooo, and mince pies…

Help.

PS. If any of you are thinking of throwing a party anytime soon, and you need, you know, like, extra numbers… feel free to send an invite my way. I saw this GREAT recipe for key lime pie the other day…

One thought on “Just add self control

  1. Pingback: Snail dumplings | Uncharted Terri-tory

Leave a Reply

